ENETOSH Standard
What competencies does an instructor or trainer in safety and health need?

This question was investigated in an empirical study carried out by Dresden University of Technology on behalf of the IAG between April 2008 and May 2010. The study was carried out to assess the validity of and further develop the competence standard that was set up within the framework of the EU project ENETOSH in 2007.

Development of a joint standard of competence for teachers in occupational safety and health in Europe

ENETOSH’s special focus is on improving the competences of teachers, lecturers and trainers as the determining factor for high-quality education and training in OSH. Well-qualified teachers are key to developing a culture of prevention in Europe. They need appropriate competences to ensure the transfer of knowledge about safety and health; to promote changes in perceptions, attitudes and behaviour in children and adults regarding their own safety and health; and to foster the establishment of a safety and health culture in schools and workplaces.

Taking its lead from the debate on the European Qualification Framework (EQF) held by ministers of education and training, European social partners and the European Commission, ENETOSH has developed a standard containing competence profiles for teachers and trainers in OSH.

The standard covers four fields of competence:
1. Education and training
2. Safety and health at work
3. Workplace Health Promotion (WHP)
4. OSH Management

The ENETOSH Standard of Competence describes knowledge requirements and behaviour-related requirements (skills and broader personal competences) for an instructor or trainer in safety and health.

There is a checklist for each field of competence. The checklists are available in detailed and summarised formats. Instructors and trainers can use these checklists to evaluate their competences by themselves. In addition, these checklists can support educational institutions in their recruitment and development of personnel. At the national level, the standard can be used for certification purposes.

The ENETOSH Standard of Competence has been recognised by 14 institutions from 10 European countries. It is available in 11 languages and can be downloaded along with the checklists.

More information about the empirical study

[ENETOSH standard of competence 2010] (in English and in German)

[ENETOSH standard of competence 2007]

The IAG report "Standards in education and training for safety and health at work – European perspectives, promising developments and examples of good practice –" is available for download (PDF file) in English here and in German here.
A printed version in English can be ordered here.