ENETOSH Standard ready!
The pan-European ENETOSH standard of competence for instructors and trainers in safety and health is the first common basis for the improvement of the quality of lectures in safety and health in Europe. The standard covers the following fields of competence:
- Education and training,
- Safety and health at work,
- Workplace Health Promotion (WHP) and
- OSH-Management.
The standard describes the maximum expectations regarding skills, knowledge and wider competencies of instructors and trainers, to be able to cope with a concrete situation of teaching and learning successfully.

The standard is put into practice with the help of checklists. To each field of competence belongs a detailed and a total checklist. Instructors and trainers can use these checklists to evaluate their competencies by themselves. In addition these checklist can support educational institutions in carrying out their recruitment of personnel.
A matrix indicates the reference of the field of competence of the ENETOSH standard to the performance levels of the EQF. The reference to the performance levels of the EQF proves the comparability of the ENETOSH standard at European level.

The ENETOSH standard forms the basis for a possible certification. At European level the ENETOSH standard is acknowledged by the partners of the network as a pan-European standard.1 At national level a training institute can be certified by a accreditated body on the basis of the ENETOSH standard as a principle for testing.

Although the ENETOSH standard was developed for instructors and trainers there is nothing to be said against a transfer into further education of teachers. Through this the process of mainstreaming safety and health into the education systems would be additionally supported.

The ENETOSH standard including the checklists will be available in 11 languages soon. All language versions can be downloaded from this platform.
Please take a look at the menue on the left under the menue point ENETOSH standard!

The following partners developed jointly the ENETOSH standard of competence for instructors and trainers in safety and health:
  • CIVOP – OSH Education, Information and Services Centre,
    Czech Republic
  • BAR U&F – The Sector Safety Council for Education and Research,
  • BG BAU – Institution for Statutory Accident Insurance and Prevention in the Building Trade,
  • BGW – Institution for Statutory Accident Insurance and Prevention in the Health and Welfare Services,
  • ISPESL – National Institute of Occupational Safety and Prevention,
  • LDRMT – Lithuanian Labour Market Training Authority,
  • TU Delft – Safety Science Group at the Technical University Delft,
    The Netherlands
  • AUVA – Austrian Workers’ Compensation Board,
  • NIOM – Nofer Institute of Occupational Medicine,
  • FIOH – Finnish Institute of Occupational Health,
  • ISGÜM – Occupational Health and Safety Centre,
  • CIOP-PIB - Central Institute for Labour Protection - National Research Institute,
  • Labour Inspection, Federal Ministry of Economics and Labour,
  • Occupational Safety Research Institute, p.r.i. (VUBP),
    Czech Republic
  • European Federation of Building and Woodworkers (EFBWW),
    European Union
  • BGAG – Institute Work and Health of the German Social Accident Insurance (DGUV),